Tags


I forgot to mention in my last post that the canal boat ride was wonderful…For those who live in Ohio (or those who are visiting), it’s well worth the trip. You learn a lot about Ohio’s early history, and how we Ohioans became quite successful upon the completion of the Ohio-Erie Canal systems. Across the street from the landing dock is Roscoe Village, which we ended up not being able to visit, but I still highly recommend anyone to go there.

The mill arrived while we were out, and I LOVE it. I’ve been able to make a few loaves of bread already–though, two were kind of funky-looking–and they were delicious! Fresh flour is wonderful! In fact, the other day, I made a great loaf called Banana-Oatmeal-Raisin bread, using fresh whole wheat flour, oatmeal, bananas, and instead of raisins, I used dried cranberries. *drool* It was to die for! The bread was also quite yummy slathered with creamy peanut butter (though, I’m assuming that the crunchy kind would work just as well! 😉 ). Definitely making that recipe again. Tonight, I’m going to make another loaf of just plain whole wheat bread so we can have sandwiches for lunch tomorrow.

I went with a friend on Saturday to shop at some yard sales….A local community had 60 families participate in a large one, and we had quite a bit of success. I was able to purchase for Munchkin a Discovery Toys Marbleworks, practically brand-new for $4. Only two marbles were missing out of 10, so I definitely wasn’t complaining, considering that coming from the company it’s $30. I also found 2 great craft/hobby books, inside which are instructions for a myriad of things, including how to make a heddle loom for weaving–may have to use that when the kids are a little older. At another sale I found The Ark, by Arthur Geisert for only $0.25. Oh my gosh! The illustrations are incredible! I also found a few other books at the same price, coming to a total of $3.00 just for the books. They included The Lamb and the Butterfly, Hattie and the Fox, Is Your Mama a Llama?, and a few others. All these books–not including the craft books–are going to be added to my CM list for preschool reading. I know Miss Mason did not approve much of preschoolers doing a lot of reading, but Munchkin so loves books and loves to read, especially with Daddy and I. So, I’ve purposely been choosing books that are meaningful and would enhance our outdoor time while we’re out. Not only that, but it’s an hour drive to my parents’ house and for her to have nothing to do but look at road construction whizzing by (Ohio’s state flower is now the construction barrel) is pointless; might as well give her some books to read, eh?

I have to go for now. I need to get Munchkin ready for bed, and it’s quite late for her to be up. I may write more later, once she’s settled.

