Jesus our brother, strong and good,

Was humbly born in a stable rude,

And the friendly beasts around him stood;

Jesus our brother, strong and good.

“I,” said the donkey, shaggy and brown,

“I carried His mother up hill and down,

I carried His mother to Bethlehem town;

I,” said the donkey, shaggy and brown.

“I,” said the cow, all white and red,

“I gave Him my manger for His bed,

I gave Him my hay to pillow His head;

I” said the cow, all white and red.

“I,” said the sheep, with curly horn,

“I gave Him my wool for His blanket warm,

He wore my coat on Christmas morn;

I,” said the sheep, with curly horn.

“I,” said the dove, fro mthe rafters high,

“Cooed Him to sleep, my mate and I,

We cooed Him too sleep, my mate and I;

I,” said the dove, from the rafters high.

And every beast, by some good spell,

In the stable dark was glad to tell,

Of the gift he gave Immanuel,

The gift he gave Immanuel.

I learned this traditional carol as a child. I don’t remember whether it was someone in my family who taught it to me or if it was part of a school program; yet, I remember singing it while my dad played it on the guitar.

This particular carol of Advent is about service. Each of the animals gave what they had to the Infant Jesus: the donkey, his back; the cow, her manger and hay; the sheep, its wool; and the doves their songs. What have you or I done for Jesus lately?

During His ministry, some children came to Jesus, wanting to be near Him. The disciples atempted to shoo them away. Jesus said, “Let the children come unto Me, for the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to such as these.” He also said, “Whatever you do for the least of these you also do unto Me.” He goes on to say that if you even give a drink of water to a child, you’re also giving a drink of water to Him; you never know, but you may also be serving an angel in disguise.

To serve Jesus and our children during this Advent season, we are learning about Advent together. We have made an Advent calendar and will be using it starting tonight. Munchkin has been asking a lot about Jesus, mostly about where He is (“Is Jesus sitting right next to me?” “Is Jesus laying on my pillow with me?”) and what songs we will sing about Him (“Is this song about Jesus?”)

How will you serve Jesus during this Advent season? How will you serve your children? Other people’s children?

Please come back tomorrow for “While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks”.

