So much to tell, as so much has happened since my last post!

Dh and I have officially decided to start Munchkin on kindergarten work this year. We’re going to use Charlotte Mason’s methods for certain, even though we’re starting a couple years earlier than what Miss Mason would have liked. We’re reading the Little House series for our books this year, through Farmer Boy (we’re currently almost finished with Little House in the Big Woods, which I’ll get to that in the next post!), and we’ll also read Davy Crockett. For writing we’ll be using Handwriting Without Tears, then The Writing Road to Reading, as well as copywork, and then we’ll also be using Math-U-See. For science, we’ll be doing various nature studies, as well as a bunch of other stuff.

I’m no longer watching Little Miss. Her mother was able to get her into a preschool just before Easter, and the past couple of months have been busier than ever!!

We’ve gone on nature walks, trips to playgrounds, visits to my parents, shopping, VBS, trips to the pool, and a whole slew of other things.

Munchkin and I have discovered a really fun game that’s traditionally known as a pub game, but can be played without all the “traditional pub things” (like drinking and gambling). This game is called Shut the Box. I discovered it while shopping for a birthday gift for a friend’s little boy who just turned 5. Melissa & Doug made a nice, fancy version of it and it’s available at many places on the web, such as Itsybitsyworld.com and toysrus.com. Unfortunately, being a M&D product, it’s also a tad pricey. I found out I could make my own version for less than $3–minus any stains or polyurethanes. I’ll explain more about this game in my next post.

On Ravelry, I’ve been participating in a read-along with “Little House in the Big Woods”, by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I’m going to blog more about this, because the Little House series is a passion of mine. I’ve always been a fan of Mrs. Wilder, and when I was a girl, I would pretend that I was Laura traveling with my family in a covered wagon to literally what seemed to be the middle of nowhere to help it become Somewhere. When playing with my younger brother we would collect the wild onions that grew in the yard and I’d pretend to cook with them while he went “hunting” (really, it was more like he went to play with his Tonka trucks, but I didn’t care…I was in my own little world). Anyway, the read-along group is about halfway finished with the book, though Munchkin and I are only 1.5 chapters away from finishing it and beginning “Little House on the Prairie”.

This read-along group has been reading one chapter per week, and each week, the other mods and I suggest various activities and recipes to go along with the chapter. It’s been a lot of fun so far. Munchkin and I really need to do more of the activities that are listed, and we’ll probably end up coming back to them soon in the future, as autumn approaches. With the start of “Little House on the Prairie”, we’ll be able to explore our adventurous spirit as a family. We hope to go camping here a couple times before September, which will be a perfect backdrop for our book. We’ll be able to take photos of the things we get to do on our camping trips (which will more than likely be someplace local, perhaps at a reservoir that has campgrounds and the like), and we’ll also journal about everything as well. I already have Munchkin drawing at least one thing she did each day (though, I’m not as consistent as I would like to be in reminding her to do it), so hopefully we’ll be able to compare what we do while camping with what Laura experienced while traveling with her family and sleeping under the stars or inside the wagon.

In future posts, I will share all the activity suggestions that we posted in the group, so that anyone who reads this who does not belong to Ravelry will also have a chance at participating with us. Plus, it’s easier for me to share photos here. ๐Ÿ˜€

Anyway, I must go so that I can get Buggaboo to sleep before Munchkin wakes up from her nap (which should be really soon). In my next post, I will share how to make a Shut the Box set, as well as photos of what my simple wooden ones look like (as well as an elaborate one for someone’s birthday that’s coming up, but I can’t say who because I think they occasionally come to read my blog). I hope you all have a blessed day, and that the weather is as beautiful where you are as it is here in sunny Central Ohio. ๐Ÿ˜€

