For us, it seems like so much has happened in just the past 48 hours, but to others it may seem like it’s nothing. Wednesday night/Thursday morning at 1am, Bug woke up, getting sick in her bed. 😦 Ever smell the odor of really bad Parmesagne cheese? Well, at least, that’s what I think it would smell like. Apparently, she had a sour stomach of sorts, so I took her to the bathroom, stripped her down and put her in the tub. She was crying at first, poor thing, but was fine after a moment. I dried her off after giving her a quick scrub-down, got her dressed, stripped, flipped, and made her bed, and had her resting again, all within about 10-15 minutes. Whew! Then, yesterday morning, Munchkin asked for a yogurt, then when Bug woke up I made them some waffles. Bug ate all of hers, but after only 3 bites or so, Munchkin started yelling, “Mommy! I’m sick?!” She was surprised, and then promptly puked all over herself, her seat, and the floor. *Sigh* Meanwhile, Bug watched the proceedings with interest and just kept eating. Needless to say, despite the gorgeous, fluffy snow that would be perfect for building snow people and just tromping through with our new, shiny winter boots, we stayed indoors. We did get to do some fun things, like read our new library books (story to follow about the library 🙂 ), school work (Munchkin really does love school!), play with playdough, and we also got to take the rats out, one at a time, and let them run around in their big ball. For Christmas, we had received the DVD copy of “Charlotte’s Web” (remember that cartoon from the ’80s? Sure, you do, you just probably don’t remember! It’s the one with Debbie Reynolds’ voice as Charlotte…), so we watched that during the latter half of the morning before lunch. After lunch, Bug fell asleep for 3.5 hours (yeah, definitely wasn’t feeling too well), and that’s when Munchkin and I did the school work. So, aside from the occasional cranky bickering, we had a fairly relaxing day.

On the plus side, I did find out that Crochet! is looking for submissions by Feb. 8 for an upcoming special issue next fall focusing on accessories. Boy, do I want to get this pattern set in there if I can! I have written out the patterns for the neckwarmer, hood, and wristlets, and as soon as I get my samples done, I’m going to be asking for 2 volunteer testers to work them up fairly quickly. Or, if you are the adventurous type and don’t need to see the pictures ahead of time and feel like going only on description and want to test for me anyway, please, shoot me an email at tracey DOT mccorkle AT gmail DOT com. I’m going to type up the patterns today, so I’ll be able to send it out to you. I’ll also be putting out the call for testers on Ravelry this evening, and I’m looking for 2 folks to test the adult size pattern, and 2 folks to work on the child-size pattern, if possible. You’ll need experience with working in front and back loops, as well as being a fast crocheter. You’ll need the equivalent of 3 balls Paton’s Stretch Socks (not an affiliate–that’s just the yarn I’m using for my design process because it’s what I had on hand and it looks really cool!), which is 41% cotton, 39% wool, 13% nylon, and 7% elastic, and each ball is approx. 239 yds./219m. This may be too much yarn, but hey! Is there really too much? Anyway, you’ll also need an E/4-3.5mm hook (mine is a Boye, so if Bates or Clover have a similar size, have at it!). As for notions, the patterns require 3-4 1/2″ diameter buttons or lengths of coordinating ribbon, about 3/8″-1/2″ wide (one spool of regular satin-finish ribbon or even gross-grain ribbon would do the trick), coordinating sewing thread (for the buttons, if desired) plus sewing needle. That’s it! So, if you’re still interested, shoot me an email and I’ll gladly send it to you when it’s ready! I can’t reimburse you the cost of the yarn, but you will have bragging rights that you were one of the first to try out this pattern set. I only ask that you don’t post pictures of the finished projects until after I hear whether or not the patterns have been accepted. Under the submission guidelines, it states that submissions cannot be already published elsewhere, and I don’t want to take the risk of preview pictures getting out before the patterns are even accepted. Thank you.

On another note, I’m hoping the guy finishes the snowplowing in our drive so the girls and I can make a quick jaunt to JoAnn’s. I need 2 more balls of the Paton’s Stretch Socks in Mineral to finish my prototypes of which I plan to send in pictures for submission. So without further ado, I must excuse myself so the girls and I can get bundled up and go out into the 11-degree F weather and run our quick errand. 🙂

