Heheh…say that five times fast! 😀 Anyway, I have been busy the past couple weeks, so I haven’t posted nearly as much as I would have like to. I’ve been working on sewing some birdies from spoolsewing.com (please! go check them out. They’re absolutely adorable!), and I’m making them from felt–very sturdy, and if the girls get a hold of them they can really take a beating. 😉

Also, over the past week, I’ve been inclined to look for cute full apron patterns. I don’t want a butcher-style apron that has a flat front, but something cute and traditional that has a skirt, a couple pockets, wraps around my body at least to my behind but doesn’t make me look dowdy. Yeah, I know, it’s a pretty tall order! And to be honest, I do have some really cute apron patterns, but they’re all across town in a friend’s basement while we are trying to prepare our condo to sell. Oy. Oh well. In comes the library. Not all of these books have apron patterns per se, but while I was searching I came across these books and I felt they were very much worth mentioning.

The first book is called “Stitched in Time”, by Alicia Paulson. She put together a ton of really cute tutorials on items that you can make that are memorable memory keepers. From a sleepover pillowcase complete with a phone number in “case”–ahem–the pillow is lost or forgotten, to the adorable felt-and-fabric memory game for little ones, to adorable hand-embroidered onesies. This book is so cute, any crafting mama would love it.

Book number 2 is one of the cutest I’ve seen in a while. 😀 I may have to make an investment in this book because it’s just that good! “Crafty Mama Makes 49 Fabulous, Foolproof (Baby & Toddler) Projects” by Abby Pecoriello. Let me tell you, I laughed and laughed as I read this book! She has a great writing style,and kept things “real” about the sleep-deprived new mama (boy do I remember those days!). She suggests getting a group of mamas together with kiddos right at the same age so that you can all relate somewhat better to one another, and simply craft together. From fancy boutique-style wipies cases, bibs, changing pads, and place mats, to photo charm bracelets, toddler tutus, ribboned barrettes, and tie-dyed t-shirts, there are so many wonderful and adorable activities in here that I just want to do all at once, and my youngest is 2! Heehee…good thing I have friends who are expecting…

Book 3 is “The Crafter’s Companion: tips, tales, and patterns from a community of creative minds” by Anna Torberg. I recognized some of the contributors’ names in the book from their blogs, and they added a bunch of cute patterns and/or tutorials on many things. They talk about their creative processes, and their workspaces. Plus, there are lots of photos of other projects they’ve worked on, which I’ve found rather inspiring as jumping-off points to make something completely different. 🙂

And the crowning jewel of the four books: “The Apron Book: Making, Wearing, and Sharing a Bit of Cloth and Comfort” by EllynAnne Geisel. I loved reading the collection of stories from people who were affected by women who wore aprons (and, really, who HASN’T been affected by an apron-wearing woman? Grandmas, aunts, moms, sisters…), and their recollections made me remember growing up with my grandmother wearing her aprons, and my mom wearing hers. My paternal grandmother wore the kind that was typical of the ’30s-’40s, and was flat in front but criss-crossed in the back over her muumuu while she baked cookies, decorated cakes, and pulled taffy, as well as while she cooked chili, shelled peas, and squeezed her grandchildren. My mom only wore hers when cooking, and she worked for my god-father and his catering business, so she had made a lot of aprons similar to my grandmother’s that criss-crossed in the back, kind of like a jumper, which, incidentally were worn over jumpers. She also had made a lot of the butcher-style aprons in all kinds of pretty calicoes, and there were a lot of aprons available for me to wear when I was helping her bake cookies, cakes, and Christmas ornaments, as well as “help” cook dinner. Anyway, this book also has some apron patterns/tutorials/recipes that are going to be very helpful in making a couple of multi-purpose aprons for me to wear around the house. One line from the book that really stood out was in a story, where the recounter had a sister who’d asked their mother why she changed her clothes right before their father came home for dinner, and her simple reply was, “Because my husband is coming home.” That really struck a chord with me, as most of you know I am a SAHM. I want my hubby to come home to a clean, somewhat peaceful (with a four and two year old, that can be kind of iffy) home when he returns from work. That’s what I want to aspire to. I know I can do it, and if the prop of an apron can help get me there, then so be it. 🙂

So, go check out some of these books. I hope they inspire the crafty side of you, and get your glue gun out. Have fun!

