Things have been quite busy here in the Homegrown Household. The weather in Ohio being cantankerous at best of late, we have been ranging from wearing shorts and t-shirts, to long pants and heavy jackets. We have gone on nature walks, the Easter bunny gave us a visit, and we’ve also had extra children in the home during the day. Needless to say, by the time I do have time to update, I’m too tired and just want to simply relax and watch some television before heading up to bed.

As I just mentioned, we had two extra little girls playing with us during the day. Much of our schoolwork had been set aside a little during the past month, though we were able to accomplish a few things. Little Miss and her baby sister, Tater Tot, have been keeping us quite busy and it’s never a dull moment around here. šŸ™‚

We’ve also planted our garden: we have 5 tomato plants (each a different variety, including two yellow varieties), 3 bell pepper plants, and about 60 green bean plants. I also have an oregano that I potted, and we have 10 strawberry plants in the neighbors’ flower bed. Yum! I can’t wait until everything starts producing…I LOVE fresh veggies and fruits! Oh! I almost forgot! We’re also going to plant some grapevines and blueberry plants, too. Fun times! šŸ˜€

We also just completed the Mystery Lace Weight Shawl Crochet-Along 2010 at the end of March. If you participated in the CAL, please send me pictures (tracey dot mccorkle at gmail dot com) of your finished projects so I can post them in future posts. I also have another shawl design in the works, and when it is finished, I’ll post pics of it, as well. Would anyone be interested in a CAL this summer for a size 10 thread triangle shawl? Please post comments and let me know! Now that I know my way around wordpress a little better and adding pages and the like, I’ll add another separate page just for this new shawl. Who knows? Perhaps I’ll even have a naming contest for it (I have a tendency to struggle with naming designs), complete with a give-away (though I’m not sure yet…at this point I can’t promise anything!). Also, if anyone wants to donate anything toward a giveaway or as a contest prize, please let me know. I have a goal to get a lot better at blogging this year, and having contests and giveaways would definitely light a fire under my behind to actually do it! šŸ™‚

Several weeks ago, dh and I took our girls and we met a friend and his son at a local metropark. We took tons of pictures, including some blurry, hazy, and rather vague photos of a pileated woodpecker. There are even shots of some lovely spring wildflowers, scenes from the hiking trail, as well as many others. I hope tonight to upload them onto a new page here on the blog that I’m hoping to use as an online nature journal of sorts. Munchkin and Bug have both drawn several pictures of things they have seen in the natural world, and I simply need to figure out how to upload a scanned file and put it into a post or on a page (does anyone have any suggestions? I know how to scan, so that’s not an issue…). One of the things Munchkin has drawn is a chickadee, which she drew in response to us seeing chickadees hanging out at our feeders out back, and a fingerplay-ish type songe I discovered in a library book (apparently, it’s also in the common domain, as I’ve found several sources for this same song all over the internet after googling…No one seems to know the original source to which to give credit). As far as the song is concerned, I made a feltboard manipulative for it using a chickadee clip art I found (I can’t find the link yet, so when I do, I’ll post it here so the artist can have the credit). I copied the clip art five times onto an MSWord document, making sure there was room on the same page for the typed song itself (honestly, this could be done with any fingerplay or feltboard song). I printed out a copy of the sheets for each of the girls, as well as a general one for anyone to use. I then cut apart the chickadees and the song text and used a glue stick to glue each piece separately onto index cards (the chickadees each fit onto a 3×5″ card and the song fit onto a 5×7″ card. If you want them to last a while longer, laminate them). Each set is currently stored in a zip-lock baggie, awaiting pockets to be made to put into the girls’ physical nature journals. So without further ado, here is:

FIVE LITTLE CHICKADEES

Five little chickadees peeping in the door,
One flew away and then there were four.
Chickadee, chickadee, happy and gay,
Chickadee, chickadee, fly away.

Four little chickadees sitting in a tree,
One flew away and then there were three.
Chickadee, chickadee, happy and gay,
Chickadee, chickadee, fly away.

Three little chickadees looking at you,
One flew away and then there were two.
Chickadee, chickadee, happy and gay,
Chickadee, chickadee, fly away.

Two little chickadees sitting in the sun,
One flew away and then there was one.
Chickadee, chickadee, happy and gay,
Chickadee, chickadee, fly away.

One little chickadee sitting all alone,
He flew away and then there were none.
Chickadee, chickadee, happy and gay,
Chickadee, chickadee, fly away.

You can find sound clips of this song out there on the net, and for some reason this morning I’m having a terrible time trying to find the things I previously found to share with the girls. I hope you have as much fun with this as my girls have.

God bless!

