Outside, the leaves have already fallen from the ash trees in our neighborhood, leaving this delicious crunching sound that the girls just love making whenever they step. The temps have gotten cooler and have consistently been in the 60s and 70s, so that makes for autumn activities.

At our local playground are a couple of very lovely oak trees, under which have fallen thousands upon thousands of wonderful acorns. The girls and I collected an entire basket of them, checking for holes and cracks, and brought them home. We brought them in and overnight we left them sitting on the coffee table. Yeah, silly me. 😉 Let’s just say the flies buzzing around the next day were not welcome “guests” in our home. So, the basket went outside onto the A/C unit on the back patio (it was raining, and I didn’t want them to get wet, and I didn’t have time over the following couple of days to dry them in the oven and kill whatever might be lurking inside them. Another big mistake! The squirrels had a heyday, and I’m still cleaning up the mess. Oy.

So, instead, I’ve been looking to other inspiration for crafty ideas. We’re currently working on Daddy’s birthday gift which is coming up soon, so that’s been taking up a bit of our time, so in the meantime, I can give a brief preview of what Christmas craft I’m working on:

Can anyone hazard a guess? 🙂

