I meant to get this started a while ago, so that this post would be beyond ready to go and be posted, but alas, with everything else going on, it slipped my mind. :S Anyway, I aim to at least post a different Hymn each day of Advent, so that all who read this can reflect upon the words of the poets who wrote them. The vast majority chosen were taken from scripture, although a few may not be inspired at all by the Bible. At any rate, I hope you enjoy this series as we observe Advent, the coming of Christ. I will be posting 2 separate posts tonight for yesterday and today, to help avoid confusion.

 

Day 1: The Angel Gabriel from Heaven Came

The angel Gabriel from heaven came,

his wings as drifted snow, his eyes as flame.

“All hail,” said he, “O lowly maiden Mary,”

Most highly favored Mary, gloria!

 

“For know a blessed mother you shall be,

all generations praise continually,

your Son shall be Emmanuel, be seers foretold.”

Most highly favored Mary, gloria!

 

Then gentle Mary meekly bowed her head.

“To me be as it pleases God,” she said.

“My soul shall laud and magnify God’s holy name.”

Most highly favored Mary, gloria!

 

Of her, Emmanuel, the Christ, was born

in Bethlehem, all on a Christmas morn,

and Christian folk throughout the world will ever say:

Most highly favored Mary, gloria!

