I stumbled across this recipe for individual mugs of hot cocoa in various places, so I thought I’d share here, too.

Ingredients:

  • milk–about 6 oz., or up to an inch below the top of your 8-oz. mug
  • 2 t. sugar
  • 1 t. cocoa powder
  • dash salt
  • your favorite flavoring–a touch of cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla, cardamom, or whatever liquor you have on-hand (I had a bit of Ghirardelli’s raspberry liquor in my spice cabinet)
  • Whipped cream (optional)

Directions:

  1. Add milk to your mug to about 1″ below the rim. Microwave until it’s hot enough for you (in my microwave, it’s about 1.5 minutes). Be careful–sometimes, milk will foam if not watched, so you may have to do 1 minute, stir, then another 30 seconds.
  2. In a small bowl, add the cocoa, sugar, and salt, as well as any spices you choose to add (if adding vanilla extract or a liquor, wait until step 3). Mix well, and break down as many lumps of cocoa you can (if it isn’t already sifted, which I don’t do since I haven’t a sieve. :S ).
  3. Stir cocoa mixture into mug, and mix well. This is when you may add any extracts or liquors (no more than a teaspoon, because you don’t want to overpower the chocolate). Stir again, then taste.

Yum! Enjoy! This is absolutely perfect on a day like today, when it’s only 11-degrees Fahrenheit outside, with 4″ of snow on the ground. Brrr…..

