Yay! It’s March! We’re just a couple weeks away from spring, and this weekend is the time change. I’m not looking forward to the loss of an hour’s worth of sleep, but at least we’ll have more daylight hours, and it’s a step toward being warmer (or so I hope! O_o). The warmer it is, the longer the girls get to stay outside and play. The longer they’re outside and play, the longer, deeper, and better they sleep! (See? There’s another ulterior motive πŸ˜‰ )

On the news front, there are two Mystery Shawl CALs going on in my free patterns pages. I can’t wait until everyone starts posting their finished projects on Ravelry!! πŸ˜€ My Ezekiel’s Wheels shawl design is a motif shawl, which can be put together to make a scarf, a stole, or a shawl (triangle or square). I still need to finish my own, and I hope to be able to wear it for Easter next month. I’m making it with Skacel 100% lace weight merino in tan, purchased at Knitter’s Temptations in Dublin. πŸ˜€ My Aleatha Shawl is a triangle shawl that I’ve named after my great-grandmother, who passed away when I was around 8 or 9 years old. She was also a crocheter, and, I suspect, a knitter. I’m about 75% finished with my Aleatha, which is being made with Alpaca With a Twist, which is 80% alpaca and 20% silk, and it’s in a really nice raspberry-wine colorway. Soooo soft, beautiful, and very squishy! One skein of this stuff will probably make 2 shawls, and I think I waaaayyy overestimated the amount of fiber needed for the shawl; I really need to make adjustments to my calculations, or find a better formula for the estimations for laceweight. *sigh*

I also have a few more shawls in the works for later this year. I just need to finish the two for the CALs, another that I designed but need to work out for the math so I can get it tested (I’m hoping to submit it for publication), as well as a few other much smaller projects I need to start/work on/finish. I’ve joined a read-along on the Folktales and Fairytales group on Ravelry, and this spring we’re reading J.R.R. Tolkein’s “The Hobbit” . This group also works on projects based on the chosen book or story, and I’m thinking of expanding it into the LOTR as well. I might make my girls dwarf hoods (I have to design them, but I think they’ll be adorable!), since Bilbo’s visitors have a myriad of colors when they come in to his hobbit hole. If I can figure it out, I might even make a replica of the Elven brooch that Merry, Pippin, Frodo, and Sam were all given when they visited RivenDell. Or, perhaps I’ll follow the pattern for the Circular Shawl (available in my Free Patterns section) but make the center yellow, and the rest green to represent a hobbit’s door. Hmmmm…lots to think about!

We are also about 2/3s of the way through Munchkin’s kindergarten year, and Buggaboo’s first year of preschool. Munchkin is almost finished with reading E.B. White’s Charlotte’s Web, and I am in the search for another good reading book. I’m going to be perusing book lists this week, and try to get to the thrift stores this weekend to find a suitable book for her to read. We’re also going to be starting to work on her elocution; as she reads, she reads the words so quickly that she skips over the smaller words and does not enunciate her consonants (thank you, mid-west accent! πŸ™‚ ). My MIL has lent to us her set of McGuffey Readers, so I’ll have her practice reading aloud the various lessons within them. Bug has really come a long way these past few months, and knows her letters, recognizes most of her numbers, and can already read about a baker’s dozen of words. πŸ™‚ She’s going to start learning to write soon, though she doesn’t know it, and she loves coloring. I have an alphabet border chart from the Dollar Tree taped to a wall in their bedroom at a low height so she can take her finger and trace the letters. I also take worksheets and put them in a Crayola toy thingy so she can take a dry-erase pen and trace letters, do mazes, dot-to-dots, etc. For PE, they will be beginning to take swim lessons in a couple weeks, and they are both doing quite well in their dance classes for music. Munchkin is also doing well with her piano, and is almost done with the Alfred’s Lesson Book 1A. In the next couple weeks, I’ll have to be purchasing the 1B book and the Theory 1A. Bug may be starting the 1A lesson book with me as her teacher soon, but I need to see how far her hands stretch over the keys.

Time to cut it short while I can. Such a pretty day, I may have to take the girls outside to kick a ball around. πŸ™‚

