Again, I have sadly neglected my poor blog. My last post was in August, right before a family camping trip. And, right before I had the wind knocked out of my proverbial sails. It was at that point that my husband informed me he wants a divorce. So, for the past few months, things have been incredibly nuts around here, and we’re finally arriving at a “new normal,” so to speak. 🙂 I will admit that at first, things were rough for me, but as time as gone on, God has shown me that, while it isn’t part of His ideal plan, it is for the best. This has been a long time in coming, and without going into detail, I am doing just fine. We decided to wait until the end of our school year since we made the commitment to homeschool Munchkin for at least that long, so as of this summer I will be single again.

In lieu of these new changes coming up in my life, I am looking for employment as well as working on new designs. I have the very lofty goal (for me, that is) of 12 new shawl designs this year. I currently have 4 new shawls in the works, one of them being–wait for it–the annual Mystery Laceweight Shawl! 😀 The others are top secret projects, perhaps to be revealed later in the year, BUT I can tell you a bit about this year’s shawl.

This year’s shawl–without giving away too many details, will be a Faroese-inspired shawl. As always, the recipe will be easily customizable, and I am most certain those of you who have enjoyed my patterns will enjoy this one as well. 🙂 I am in the writing stage, having a bit of a late start, but I should have it ready for testing by the end of the week in preparation for March! Are we getting excited yet? I know I am! 😀

fu·sion/ˈfyo͞oZHən/

Noun:
The process or result of joining two or more things together to form a single entity.

I am also working on a fusion lace project. For those who know me, you are aware that I am a HUGE fan of Irish lace. Well, I am just a fan of lace, period. 😀 Over the past few months I have been working on knitting lace (gasp! I know! I feel like SUCH a traitor to my fellow hooker friends!), and I have become quite familiar with knitted lace charts. Wweeeeelllll…there is a method to my madness. I’m actually a spy for the CLF working on ways to emulate some of the most fantastic laces in the world. I have been working on researching Shetland lace and the shawl construction for a couple years now, and this year, my focus will be on researching Orenburg lace. 😀 I am really loving it so far, and I am sure you will too, dear readers. I have more photos to take of my swatches, and I am certain you may like the results. The fusion part? Well, I am working the Orenburg patterns using (gasp!) crochet. It isn’t an exact match, but what I have been doing is, in my humble opinion, fairly close. You can still tell the stitches are crochet, but in a really suitable manner. Once I perfect crocheting these patterns, I will be blending Orenburg motifs with Shetland (which already has crochet lace patterns), and perhaps edging with traditional Cluny (Irish) laces. I have been toying with this idea for years, and it was only in the past few weeks that I had that AHA! moment, and I cannot wait to share it with you all! I will be adding a page here with general information, but if there is enough demand, I may develop a class to explore it more further in depth. If you think you may be interested in such a thing, feel free to add a comment. All comments are moderated and sent to email, so I will receive it. If you are local to me, it would be a fee-based face-to-face class with printed materials, and if you are non-local, there will be a paid .pdf available on Ravelry. In both cases, you will be required to provide your own materials of yarn and hooks necessary to complete the project(s). Mind, this will not be available for some time, but I ask that those interested would consider it when the time comes.

For now, I leave you with a quote from the infamous Barney Stinson of the “How I Met Your Mother” fame: “When I get sad, I stop being sad and be AWESOME instead. True story.”

Have a great day all!

