Yes, you all know what I’m talking about, right? You know, it’s your favorite time of year. You get to try something new, wield a stick, read some magic words, and presto! You have a new finished object. Still not with me? *sigh* In just a few weeks, hosted here on Homegrown and Homespun will be the FIFTH annual CLF Mystery Laceweight Shawl CAL!! In exactly 6 weeks from today, the Mystery Laceweight Shawl CAL will begin with Clue 1. Each Thursday from then until April will be a new clue, perhaps some photos to assist with techniques–this is because I am introducing something a little new–plus lots of discussion on Ravelry in the TraMari Designs Fan Club. I will add links in the pattern so that Ravelry members may check in their progress, ask questions, chime in on the discussions, and generally just have a great time.

Please allow me to tell you a little more about the pattern:

It will be Faroese in shape and incorporating an experimental lace concept I am working on. It is also a recipe, which means no two shawls will be exactly the same, and you are encouraged to individualize your shawl. This particular pattern will be easily converted to most weights of yarn; I am currently working up two, myself: one in laceweight, the other in an heavier Aran weight (Bernat Super Saver–the label says it’s worsted, but it’s bulkier than that).

Getting excited, yet? Great! πŸ˜€ You’ll need around 1200-1500 yds of laceweight (give or take, depending upon the size shawl you want), and I’m currently trying to figure out how much of the Aran weight one will need. For your hook, if working in laceweight, make sure you use about 4.25-4.5mm (depending on your brand). If using Aran weight, try an N hook (apologies, I cannot remember at this time the metric size; I will edit once I find it! πŸ˜€ ).

This is all I can say about the pattern for now. On to the next!

I have also decided within the past couple months to change my freelance business name. It’s a good thing, too, because the old one was never registered, and this one befits things better. It seems that Trinkets by Tracey made me think of craft shows, and, while I’ve nothing against them (in fact, I rather enjoy attending them! πŸ™‚ ), I don’t actively sell any products there. Instead, I’d rather design the pattern and allow others to make items from those patterns to sell. πŸ˜€ (Yes, I’m a little lazy that way, I confess.) So, I’m changing over to TraMari Designs. I like the sound of it a lot better, and I think it’s going to get a lot better reception in the long run. Besides, if I am making a lot of changes in my life in just the next few months, I may as well do this, too, no?

Something else that’s new! I’m going to be focusing on a Ravelry shop in the near future! Yay! FINALLY! With the shawl patterns I’m working on, I’ll be making them available for sale on Ravelry, with pre-order discounts and the like. πŸ˜€ I am in the hopes that I can begin learning to chart my previous patterns of Ostrich Feather Fandango (a LOT of you have been waiting on that one!), Aleatha–which will also be re-worked in the same bundle for Faroese shaping (wouldn’t that be lovely? :D), and perhaps future patterns. Any of these particular patterns will be placed up for sale on Ravelry, with the original patterns (no charts, maybe typos, perhaps a mistake that hasn’t been caught) still up on my blog pages. Before everyone begins protesting, I understand everyone loves the free stuff, BUT if I’m going to put in many hours of writing up the pattern from conception to fruition, as well as charting it out or paying someone to do so, I would also like to be paid for my hard work. I know of very few people who work hard at their regular jobs who do not expect to be paid, and with all the editing, testing, tech support, MATH (and lots of it!), and the like, one simple shawl pattern like Aleatha took me upwards of 50 hours from conception to now. And this goes for all designers, not just me. πŸ™‚ So, that is why I’ve decided to focus on my Rav store.

Well, dearest Readers, I am going to end this post so I may focus on some exciting new projects that I hope to entice you with in the upcoming months!

“Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Scott Adams

