I am fully aware that I have thus far failed to complete or even begin any of my resolutions. I had resolved to write at least once per week here, and it just didn’t happen. I could come up with any number of excuses, but, well, I won’t attempt to bother you all with mundane details.

I will, however, update you on what has been happening in my life crochet-wise. Soon, really soon, I will be releasing the first pattern in a series of Steampunk-inspired accessories. Yes, I know, smaller accessories are a tad different from what I’m known for, but hey! At least I’m expanding my horizons a bit and trying to reach a bit of a larger audience. And if they are not well-received, then we know I should and shall stick to what I know.

Once I get my grubby little hands on a camera (need to borrow/purchase one), I’m going to attempt a photo-shoot of my latest out-of-testing design which I call “Oxidation”. You are simply going to have to trust my description on this for the time being until I can post an update with photos. It is sized for either men or women (the men’s, of course, being the larger of the two), and is a loose cowl with a separately-worked crocheted ascot. My sample cowl has been made with Malabrigo Arroyo in “Pocion” (seen here) and the accompanying ascot was worked with Malabrigo Sock in “Marte” (seen here). The effect I am attempting to go for is metals that have been compromised: the Pocion as corroded silver or even copper, whereas the Marte is seen as ferrus-oxide–aka, rust.

In my notebook, I have begun the idea for a matching pair of mitts to go with the Oxidation Cowl. How they’ll be implemented I have no idea, but I’m working on it. 🙂

For the upscale ladies, I have also been getting ready a ladies’ neckwarmer called “Feminine Pande735818_10200344461441914_546933727_o(1)monium”. My sample is made with Malabrigo Arroyo in “Archangel”, and a coordinating ribbon used to tie it closed around the neck. This pattern is so easy, a beginner crocheter could complete it in a matter of a couple days, and an intermediate to advanced crocheter could make it in a matter of hours. This pattern is to begin testing next week, and will be available to the public in a couple weeks to help celebrate my birthday. 😀 Yay! And yes, I am also writing up some matching mitts in laceweight to go with it, as any self-respecting lady would never appear in public with bare hands. Feminine Pandemonium and mitts (yet to be named) will also be included in my Steampunk line.

I also have a couple shawls in the works. More about these will be announced as time goes on, as these are to be parts of a series of shawls based on a theme to be announced upon the release of the first pattern.

My main goal this year is to head up another mystery crochet-along. I have no timeline for this as of yet because I’m still working on getting my life together–mayhap I’ll do a mystery CAL to release one of the aforementioned shawls, but this will be a paid-for CAL as opposed to free in the past. I have researched and read several posts on Ravelry, and I have decided this will be the best course of action at this time. I will still be available to answer questions at my earliest convenience–most likely within 24 hours–and I am working on new layouts for the .pdfs, so they’ll look far more professional (ha! We’ll see 😉 ).

Anyway, this is all I have for the time being. I have promised myself that this year, 2013, is going to be MY year. I’m claiming it. It’s going to be fun, perhaps fast-paced (as evidenced by my design journal/calendar/whatever), and I hope to take you all along for the ride.

Blessings to all!

